The purpose of the University’s parking resources is to help provide students, faculty, staff and visitors safe and efficient access to university facilities. Parking areas on central campus are dedicated for use by faculty, staff and on-campus residents. Commuter parking is located on the perimeter of the campus. The university’s Bobcat Shuttle provides transportation service from these lots to central campus.
The Texas Education Code gives Texas State the authority to regulate parking on campus, and the Transportation Services Advisory Council (TSAC) reviews the parking rules and regulations on a regular basis. The Parking Services (PS) division of the Transportation Services Office has theauthority to enforce these rules.
Suggestions to improve the parking rules or policies can be made in writing to the TSAC c/o the Parking Services Office.
Parking Services is open Monday-Friday during normal University business hours. The office is located in the Matthews Street Parking Garage at 202 Student Center Drive. Parking Services may be contacted at 512-245-2887.
Changes to the Traffic & Parking Regulations, ticket history, online vehicle registration and ticket payment links can be found on the web at www.parking.txstate.edu.
With the exception of the LBJ Student Center and Edward Gary Street Garages, and vehicles displaying a pay-and- display temporary permit, every vehicle parked on university property by a student, faculty, or staff person must be registered with Parking Services and properly display a Texas State parking permit.
The regulations are enforced at all times. The purchase of a permit does not guarantee a parking space, and the lack of a space never justifies parking illegally.
1. The on-line vehicle registration process can be accessed through the Parking Services website (www.parking.txstate.edu) or via Catsweb. Everyone is encouraged to register on-line and well in advance of bringing a vehicle to campus. Permits will only be mailed if the vehicle registration process is completed on-line.
All parking fines must be paid before you can:
You may not allow someone else to use your permit or gate access card. If you do, both persons could lose their parking privileges for one year.
2. Cost of a yearly Red/Restricted Permit $335
Reserved Red/Restricted $825
Residence Hall $485
Mill Street/Residence Hall Permit $115
Bobcat Village $265
Commuter/Perimeter Permit. $115
Reduced Motorcycle (when purchased with or after a vehicle permit) $65
Texas State Vehicles Including Golf Carts $115
Full-time faculty/staff with an annual salary of $25,000 or less are eligible for a reduced permit fee on Red/ Restricted Permits.
Under $20,000 $168
$20,001 to $25,000 $249
Per Course, Extension and faculty with a one semester appointment are eligible for a semester permit. A copy of the PCR or contract must be provided to Parking Services each semester.
Semester permit $112
On-campus residents, faculty and staff may purchase only one vehicle permit. Only faculty and staff are eligible for transferable hanging permits. Commuters may purchase more than one vehicle permit, and each vehicle must be registered with Parking Services. Students, faculty, and staff may purchase a motorcycle permit at a reduced rate if a vehicle permit is also purchased. Any Faculty or Staff person who has purchased a parking permit may use the Bobcat Shuttle.
Commuters may purchase a Residence Hall Permit, if spaces are available, after the 12th class day at the $485 rate.
For inquires about temporary permits, see section III.C.9.
3. If an employee or on-campus resident leaves or withdraws from the University, the permit and gate access card must be returned to PS as part of the check-out procedure. Permits and access cards cannot be passed to another person. Prorated refunds are available only on permits returned during the same semester the permit was issued. For the refund policy, please refer to UPPS 05.07.02 which can be found on the UPPS website at www.txstate.edu/effective/upps/.
4. A replacement permit can be obtained for $5.00 if:
5. If your permit is lost, stolen, was left on another vehicle you no longer have access to, or not in identifiable condition for an exchange, a replacement permit may be obtained for $10 with proper documentation. Always report a lost or stolen permit to PS as soon as possible. If you file a false lost or stolen permit report, you may lose your parking privileges for one year. Anyone found displaying a lost, stolen, or forged permit could lose their parking privileges for one calendar year.
6. Disabled Veterans with a service-related disability are exempt from paying parking permit fees, but must always register their vehicle with Parking Services and obtain and properly display a Texas State permit. Specific documentation required.
1. Restricted Faculty/Staff Permits (Red) are available to: 1) all Texas State faculty members; 2) graduate and doctoral teaching assistants who are reported as the “teacher of record” for an organized class; 3) permanent and temporary Texas State staff persons (for temporary faculty and staff, permits will only be issued through the ending date of the appointment); 4) faculty and staff persons whose employment is funded by grants or other outside sources; 5) Per course and extension faculty only may purchase a semester permit; 6) food service employees (excluding Texas State students); 7) Texas State retirees; and 8) the ASG president and vice president and others as approved by TSAC.
2. Reserved Red-Restricted Faculty/Staff Permits are available to fulltime faculty/staff persons otherwise eligible for a Red Restricted Faculty/ Staff permit. Contact Parking Services for more information on Reserved Spaces.
3. Residence Hall Permits (Green)* are available to hall residents. Residence Hall Permits allow parking in the Green Residence Hall Lots and Perimeter Lots at any time. Residents of Sterry, Butler, and Lantana Halls, ONLY, may also park in the Green Residence Hall spaces located on the top levels of the Edward Gary Garage, as indicated by signage. See Section III.E. for other parking locations and times. There is no guarantee of a space adjacent to one’s residence hall, and there may be times when a Perimeter/All-Zone Lot is the nearest option. Evening safety escort services are available from these lots.
4. Mill Street/Residence Hall Permits (Gold)* areas are available to on-campus Residents preferring a less expensive parking option and allows the vehicle to be parked in the Mill Street lot. See Section III.E. for other parking locations and times.
5. Bobcat Village Apartment Permits (Silver)* are available to residents of Bobcat Village. Bobcat Village Residents are not eligible for a Mill Street/ Residence Hall Permit or a Commuter/Perimeter permit.
*Residents may purchase only Green, Gold or Silver Permits
6. Commuter/Perimeter Permits (Purple) are available to: 1) commuting students; 2) any Texas State faculty or staff person; 3) Community members who use university facilities such as the Alkek Library and Campus Recreation Center, or who park on campus for any reason on a regular basis for an extended period of time.
1. Visitor/Guests - Visitor/guest parking is available at the LBJ Student Center or Edward Gary Street Garages for a fee, or in officially designated visitor spaces. Dedicated visitor spaces do not require a fee to park, however a temporary permit available from Parking Services must be displayed on vehicles parked in these spaces. On occasions when visitor parking is needed at a building that is not close to one of the garages and where no designated visitor spaces are available, departments should work with Parking Services to consider other accommodations. Hosts of visitors and official university guests should request visitor permits from Parking Services at least two business days in advance. The University Visitors/Guests Permit Request Form can be found online at www.parking.txstate.edu or obtained by e-mailing Parking Services at firstname.lastname@example.org. Parents may obtain a visitors pass from a Parking Services booth, PS, or the University Police Department (UPD) dispatch office after 5 p.m. and on weekends. Students, faculty, and staff may never display a Visitor/Guest permit.
Note: From 5 p.m. Fridays through 7 p.m. Sundays, Parking Services does not enforce “No Permit” violations on Visitor/Guest vehicles. Students, faculty and staff must always display a Texas State permit.
2. One-Day Temporary - These permits are valid until 9 a.m. the next business day and are for use by persons who bring a vehicle to campus other than the one(s) already registered at PS. This permit is not to be requested or used on a regular basis in order to avoid the purchase of a permanent Texas State Permit, and is limited to three a semester. One-Day Temporary permits may be obtained from PS, any Parking Services booth, or the UPD dispatch office after 5 p.m. and on weekends.
3 Loading Zone* - Valid for 20 minutes while parked in designated loading zone areas for the purpose of loading or unloading heavy or bulky items. Once the items are unloaded, the vehicle should be promptly moved to allow others access to the area. Loading Zone permits may be obtained from PS or any Parking Services booth.
4. 30-Minute* - For use by persons who must conduct short-term business at JCK. The time-stamped permit must be obtained at the JCK Parking Services booth and exempts the vehicle from color zone restrictions for 30 minutes. The time is strictly enforced and the permit should not be obtained unless the business can be conducted in less than 30 minutes. A 30-minute permit does not allow the use of reserved spaces.
5. Service/Delivery* - For those persons required to perform job duties throughout campus. The S/D permit is valid for two hours in signed S/D spaces, 20 minutes in signed loading zones, and exempts the vehicle from color zone restrictions. S/D permits do not allow parking in reserved, handicap or visitor spaces, on yellow lines or curbs, areas not marked for parking, or in fire/emergency zones. Using the S/D permit for any reason other than its intended purpose could result in having the vehicle impounded and the permit confiscated. University departments may request one yearly S/D permit, unless otherwise approved by the TSAC. Information about yearly S/D permits is available at PS.
*The vehicle must also display a valid Texas State permit with loading zone, 30-minute, and Service/Delivery permits.
6. Vendor/Contractor Permits - Vendors and contractors (other than construction contractors) who have contracts with the university may purchase red restricted permits if they wish to have red restricted parking privileges. They may also purchase perimeter parking permits but can only park in the perimeter lots.
Parking inside fenced staging or construction areas will be limited. The staging areas are not intended to be parking areas. They are generally limited for the job superintendent and other essential personnel. The job superintendent will give authorization to park inside the staging area. Vehicles parked outside the pre-arranged staging areas may be subject to ticketing, immobilization (booting), and towing when parking outside the staging area without a permit. Construction contractors must purchase perimeter permits for their workers to park in lot P/AZ 10W (Bobcat Stadium West) and be transported to the job site if they choose to park on campus. Permits must be displayed in all vehicles to park legally on campus.
Vendors or Service providers with no contractual relationship with the university must park in the pay garages or may purchase a perimeter permit and park in any perimeter lot. On a case-by-case basis, the Assistant Director of Parking Services, upon request, may approve the purchase of a red restricted permit.
Vendors with marked vehicles who provide short-term business on campus such as the delivery of food, flowers, newspapers, etc… may park in university surface lots or in loading zones for not longer than 15 minutes with emergency flashers. No permit is needed.
7. Carpool - Available during the fall and spring semesters. A carpool consists of a group of at least two persons. Visit the Parking Services website at www.parking.txstate.edu for information on the carpooling and carpool matching programs.
8. Temporary Mobility Impaired - Persons with a temporary mobility impairment can obtain a Temporary Mobility Impaired permit with written notification from the Student Health Center or a personal doctor. The expected period of time must be included and cannot exceed, nor be renewed, beyond 60 days. Vehicles displaying this permit are exempt from the color zone classifications. This permit does not authorize the use of Disabled Parking spaces, Visitor, Service/Delivery, or any other reserved parking space.
9. Weekly Temporary - May be purchased for up to six weeks at $6/week for Commuter/Perimeter, $8/week for Restricted, and Bobcat Village, and $15/ week for Hall Residents. If an annual permit has already been purchased for another vehicle, a temporary permit may be purchased for $2 per week for up to six weeks per year for use on a different vehicle.
10.Pay-and-Display Permits - One-day temporary permits are available at Pay-and-Display machines located at the Speck Street Garage, the Coliseum Lot, the Recreational Sports fields near Bobcat Village, the Meadows Center, the Family and Consumer Science lot and the Pleasant Street Garage. These one-day permits are valid only in the specified lot or garage. Vehicles displaying a pay-and-display permit are still subject to enforcement action such as ticketing, booting, or impound, if outstanding tickets are assigned to that vehicle. Vehicles displaying a valid Texas State Permit may not use a Pay-and-Display Permit to park in a color zone or at a time otherwise prohibited as per Section III.C.E. “Parking Area Classifications.”
Hanging tags may be used only with Red-Restricted, and Red-Restricted Reserved. Others must use the self-adhering decal. Hanging permits must be hung from the rear view mirror and be easily seen below the window tint with the numbers facing forward. If the position of the rear view mirror or the length of tint makes this difficult, inform PS so they can provide an extended length hanging tag. Self-adhering permits must be completely affixed as described on the peel tab of the decal and placed entirely outside of any window tint. They cannot be taped, glued, laminated or affixed in any other manner, nor transferred to any other vehicle. Pay-and-display permits must be placed printed side facing up on the vehicle dashboard and be clearly visible.
All lots and streets where parking is permitted are color coded by zone. These color zones are indicated on the parking map, and color-coded signs are posted in areas corresponding to the map. Generally, between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday you must park in the same color zone as your permit. Vehicles displaying a Red/Restricted Permit may also park in Green (Residence Hall) or Purple (Perimeter/All-Zone) areas, with the exception of the Green Residence Hall spaces located in the Edward Gary Street Garage.
One gate access card is available only to eligible faculty and staff who have purchased an annual or semester permit upon request. One Edward Gary Street Garage access card is available to residents of Sterry, Butler and Lantana Halls who have purchased an annual Resident Hall permit. There is a $10 replacement fee for lost or damaged cards. Gate access cards may not be shared.
All motorcycle spaces are considered “All-Zone” unless otherwise designated with a sign or pavement marking. Note: Motorcycles may not park in car spaces, and four-wheeled vehicles may not park in MC spaces.
There may be times when an additional parking fee is required at special events. Parking at Texas State football games is one example. For more information regarding special event parking procedures refer to UPPS 05.07.02 which can be found on the UPPS website at www.txstate.edu/effective/upps/.
During summer school sessions, vehicles displaying a valid Texas State permit of any color may park in Green Residence Hall zones.
During the time between the last scheduled day of fall finals and the first class day of the spring term, and the last scheduled day of spring finals and the first class day of the summer term, vehicles displaying a valid Texas State Permit may park in any color zone except Red/Restricted lots and streets protected by a traffic control booth or traffic control devices and Silver (Bobcat Village) areas.
All regular parking regulations are enforced on Reading Day.
Only persons displaying a state-issued disabled person license plate or hanging tag may use the designated disabled parking spaces. All students, faculty, and staff must also display a valid Texas State permit in addition to the disabled person plate or hanging tag. If all the disabled spaces are full, any legal non-reserved space may be used.
The gated SHC parking lot is for use by patients of the facility only. If a vehicle is parked in the lot and the driver is not in the SHC, the vehicle is subject to further enforcement action including booting or towing.
There is a fee to park in these garages at all times. Residents of Sterry, Butler, and Lantana Halls ONLY who have purchased and display a Residence Hall parking permit may park in the signed Green Residence Hall spaces located on the upper levels of the Edward Gary Street Garage. Texas State permits are not required in the LBJSC Garage or the “pay-per hour” sections of the Edward Gary Street Garage. Sponsors of events held near these garages should direct attendees to use the garage. There is no free parking in either of the pay garages except for events approved by the Vice President for Finance and Support Services. A list of approved events can be found at www.parking.txstate.edu Anyone interested in more information about the garages may visit the business office in the LBJSC, room 2-6.1 or call 512-245-7994.
All Texas State parking rules and regulations apply to the Round Rock campus. Students, faculty and staff on the Round Rock campus are not considered “visitors” of the Texas State campus, must always display a Texas State Permit, and park according to the Texas State Parking Rules and Regulations.
Report inoperable vehicles immediately to PS or UPD. Vehicles may be tagged to avoid ticketing or towing.
NOTE: The boot removal fee is $75.00. The base rate for releasing impounded vehicles begins at $80 but may also include storage and additional owner identification fees accessed by the private tow company.
1. Every fall and spring semester, PS will send ticket notices to persons with unpaid parking fines. Persons with outstanding fines are prohibited from registering their vehicle with Parking Services and purchasing a permit, registering for or dropping a class; obtaining a transcript; and/or obtaining a diploma. Even if otherwise legally parked, vehicles with outstanding fines are subject to further enforcement action, including booting or towing.
2. Chronic Offender Policy - Anyone who has parked a vehicle or vehicles on University property which has or have been issued five or more tickets within a continuous 12-month period, regardless of whether the tickets are paid or on appeal, will be considered a Chronic Offender of the University’s parking rules. Chronic Offenders may continue to park legally on campus, however, when a vehicle which has been assigned to a Chronic Offender is found illegally parked, it is subject to: 1) immediate impound and 2) a $150 Chronic Offender fee.
1. When a violation notice is issued on a vehicle displaying a Texas State Permit, proof that the permit was owned by an individual is prima facie evidence that the owner of the permit received the violation notice and committed the offense. If no permit is displayed, proof that the vehicle was owned by an individual is prima facie evidence that the owner received the violation notice and committed the offense.
2. Unpaid charges for violations are recorded in either the name of the student, faculty, or staff person who:
To help assure fairness in the enforcement of parking violations, a two-tiered appeals process was created to hear appeals of violation notices.
Level One: You may first ask to speak with a PS Officer about the ticket. The officer may recommend cancellation of the fee, in part or whole, refer the case to the Assistant Director of Parking Services or his designee for further review, or refer the individual to level two of the appeal process.
Level Two: Any person who is not satisfied with the decision by the PS Officer may have the citation reviewed by a Ticket Appeals Committee consisting of students, faculty, and staff persons. The Committee’s charge is to determine: 1) if the enforcement action was in accordance with the University’s Traffic and Parking Regulations, or 2) if an extreme or extenuating circumstance, or a circumstance outside of the appellant’s control might warrant dismissal or reduction of the fee. Ticket Appeal verdicts will be emailed.
To file a Level Two appeal you must:
Appeals of a boot removal fee, fees associated with the release of an impounded vehicle, and parking suspensions must be made in writing to the Parking Violation Appeals Committee. Persons will be notified of the findings in writing and by e-mail. The Committee’s decisions are final and refunds of fines and fees are sent to the last reported permanent address.
Bikes are subject to the same traffic laws and regulations as motorized vehicles, including adherence to traffic signs and signals, traveling with the flow of traffic, and yielding the right-of-way to pedestrians. Violations are subject to municipal citations. Specific rules and regulations as they pertain to the use of bicycles on campus can be found at www.shuttle.txstate.edu/bikecave/rules.html. UPPS 05.07.02, section 16 describes specific rules and regulations regarding the use of skates and skateboards and can be found at www.txstate.edu/effective/upps/